DSCF1212
DSCF1368
DSCF1510
DSCF1455
DSCF1624
DSCF1636
DSCF1637
DSCF1610
DSCF1940
DSCF1638 (1)
DSCF2026
DSCF2080
loves-labor-lost-21
loves-labor-lost-54
loves-labor-lost-68
loves-labor-lost-72
DSCF0965
NMSFPoster20120.png

ALBUQUERQUE, NM -

Classical theater joins the urban cityscape of Albuquerque as the City of Albuquerque and The Vortex Theatre present The New Mexico Shakespeare Festival with 15 free evening performances at the NM Veterans Memorial on south Louisiana.


William Shakespeare's tragedy Hamlet and comedy Twelfth Night will include theatrical lighting and sound during the fully-costumed productions.  The shows begin at 7:30 pm Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays.
 

In the well-known tragedy, Hamlet, the ghost of the King of Denmark tells his son Hamlet to avenge his murder by killing the new king, Hamlet's uncle. Hamlet feigns madness, contemplates life and death, and seeks revenge. His uncle, fearing for his life, also devises plots to kill Hamlet. Directed by Peter Shea Kierst, Artistic Director of the Festival. He has been an acclaimed actor, director, and practitioner of theater for many years.

Twelfth Night is a comedy about a cross-dressing, ship-wreck surviving, poetry-loving girl who finds herself at the center of a not-so-average love triangle. Anna Maria Campoy joins us from Seattle to direct this delightful bilingual production, which will be performed in English and Spanish. She has also created bilingual adaptations The Taming of the Shrew, Romeo and Juliet, and Macbeth.

  • Friday, August 27 - Hamlet

  • Saturday, August 28 - Twelfth Night

  • Sunday, August 29 - Hamlet
     

  • Thursday, September 2 - Hamlet

  • Friday, September 3 - Twelfth Night

  • Saturday, September 4 - Hamlet

  • Sunday, September 5 - Twelfth Night

  • Thursday, September 9 - Twelfth Night

  • Friday, September 10 - Hamlet

  • Saturday, September 11 - Twelfth Night

  • Sunday, September 12 - Hamlet
     

  • Thursday, September 16- Hamlet

  • Friday, September 17 - Twelfth Night

  • Saturday, September 18 - Hamlet

  • Sunday, September 19 - Twelfth Night

All performances begin at 7:30p.m.